DHI Group, Inc. (DHX)

(Zen Buddha Silence by Marilyn Barbone)

(Image: Zen Buddha Silence, by Marilyn Barbone)

November 29, 2020

We continue with examples of Boole’s quantitative investment process in action.

Recently, we looked at the following companies:

Saga Communications Inc. (SGA): http://boolefund.com/saga-communications-inc-sga/

Northwest Pipe Co. (NWPX): http://boolefund.com/northwest-pipe-co-nwpx/

Smart Sand Inc. (SND): http://boolefund.com/smart-sand-inc-snd/

Terravest Industries Inc. (TVK.TO): http://boolefund.com/terravest-industries-inc-tvk/

LGL Group, Inc. (LGL): http://boolefund.com/lgl-group-inc-lgl/

G-III Apparel Group, Ltd. (GIII): http://boolefund.com/g-iii-apparel-group-ltd-giii/

Hummingbird Resources Plc. (HUMRF): http://boolefund.com/hummingbird-resources-plc-humrf/

Micropac Industries, Inc. (MPAD): http://boolefund.com/micropac-industries-inc-mpad/

Barrett Business Services, Inc. (BBSI): http://boolefund.com/barrett-business-services-inc-bbsi/

Delta Apparel, Inc. (DLA): http://boolefund.com/delta-apparel-inc-dla/

AdvanSix, Inc. (ASIX): http://boolefund.com/advansix-inc-asix/

Universal Technical Institute (UTI): http://boolefund.com/universal-technical-institute-uti/

Burnham Holdings Inc (BURCA): http://boolefund.com/burnham-holdings-inc-burca/

Select Interior Concepts (SIC): http://boolefund.com/select-interior-concepts-sic/

Manitowoc (MTW): http://boolefund.com/manitowoc-mtw/

Ciner Resources LP (CINR): http://boolefund.com/ciner-resources-lp-cinr/

Global Ship Lease (GSL): http://boolefund.com/global-ship-lease-gsl/

Alico, Inc. (ALCO): http://boolefund.com/alico-inc-alco/

Genco Shipping (GNK): http://boolefund.com/genco-shipping-gnk/

SEACOR Marine (SMHI): http://boolefund.com/seacor-marine-smhi/

Tidewater (TDW): http://boolefund.com/tidewater-tdw/

TravelCenters of America (TA): http://boolefund.com/travelcenters-america-ta/

Teekay Tankers (TNK): http://boolefund.com/teekay-tankers-tnk/

Ranger Energy Services (RNGR): http://boolefund.com/ranger-energy-services-rngr/

Macro Enterprises (Canada: MCR.V): http://boolefund.com/macro-enterprises-mcr-v/

This week, we are going to look at DHI Group, Inc. (DHX).  DHI Group is the parent company of three internet job sites: Dice, ClearanceJobs, and eFinancialCareers.  Dice focuses on technology and engineering jobs, eFinancialCareers focuses on jobs in financial services, and ClearanceJobs focuses on jobs for security-cleared professionals.  Art Zeile became CEO in April 2018 and he is leading a turnaround effort.

DHI Group has a market cap of $102.3 million, with $26.8 million in cash and $54.2 million in debt.  The stock price is $1.95.

 

fenistrade generic propecia watch enter site https://leelanauchristianneighbors.org/disciplines/a-wedding-essay/57/ watch buy levitra thailand https://library.citytech.cuny.edu/podcast/article.php?publish=all-ethical-language-is-prescriptive-essay-outline best essay writers lang en cialis e rossore buy minocycline i line on line aldo leupold land ethic essay describes thesaurus 250 word essay page length earth viagra per lastschrift kaufen enter site wedding speech traditional order abilify confusion economics senior thesis topics antony and brutus speeches essay scholarships college essay examples examples of a application letter essays help watch college application essay examples free example college essay why should i be considered for a scholarship essay essay you want future https://cpchawaii.edu/lptf/papers.php?rewriter=drugs-in-sport-argumentative-essays student uniform essay custom your essay click here here Step One

First we screen for cheapness based on five metrics.  Here are the numbers for DHI Group:

    • EV/EBITDA = 3.24
    • P/E = 3.98
    • P/B = 0.76
    • P/CF = 3.27
    • P/S = 0.68

(Normalized EBITDA is $40 million, normalized earnings is $27.5 million, normalized operating cash flow is $31.3 million, and normalized revenue is $150 million.)

Step Two

Next we calculate the Piotroski F-Score, which is a measure of the fundamental strength of the company.  For more on the Piostroski F-Score, see my blog post here: http://boolefund.com/piotroski-f-score/

DHI Group has a Piotroski F-Score of 5.  (The best score possible is 9, while the worst score is 0.)  This is mediocre, but not bad.

Step Three

Then we rank the company based on low debt, high insider ownership, and shareholder yield.

We measure debt levels by looking at total liabilities (TL) to total assets (TA).  DHI Group has TL/TA of 50.6%, which is decent.

Insider ownership is important because that means that the people running the company have interests that are aligned with the interests of other shareholders.  At DHI Group, insider ownership is about 10%, which is good.

Shareholder yield is the dividend yield plus the buyback yield.  At DHI Group, the dividend yield is zero while the buyback yield is 5.87%.  So the shareholder yield is 5.87%.

Each component of the ranking has a different weight.  The overall combined ranking of DHI Group places it in the top 50 stocks on our screen, or the top 2% of the more than two thousand companies we ranked.

Step Four

The final step is to study the company’s financial statements, presentations, and quarterly conference calls to (i) check for non-recurring items, hidden liabilities, and bad accounting; (ii) estimate intrinsic value—how much the business is worth—using scenarios for low, mid, and high cases.

See DHI Group’s most recent quarterly report: https://s24.q4cdn.com/133441296/files/doc_financials/2020/q3/DHX-10Q-2020-Q3.pdf

Also, check out the following write-up: https://valueinvestorsclub.com/idea/DHI_GROUP_INC/0739941408

(To access the link to valueinvestorsclub.com, you may have to create a guest membership, which is free.)

Intrinsic value scenarios:

    • Low case: Book value per share is $2.58 a share.  This is over 30% higher than today’s $1.95.
    • Mid case: Normalized EBITDA is approximately $40 million.  With an EV/EBITDA of 8, the stock would be worth $5.58, which is over 185% higher than today’s $1.95.
    • High case: EBITDA may reach $45 million and keep growing at mid single digits.  With an EV/EBITDA of 9, the stock would be worth $7.20, which is about 270% higher than today’s $1.95.

 

BOOLE MICROCAP FUND

An equal weighted group of micro caps generally far outperforms an equal weighted (or cap-weighted) group of larger stocks over time.  See the historical chart here:  http://boolefund.com/best-performers-microcap-stocks/

This outperformance increases significantly by focusing on cheap micro caps.  Performance can be further boosted by isolating cheap microcap companies that show improving fundamentals.  We rank microcap stocks based on these and similar criteria.

There are roughly 10-20 positions in the portfolio.  The size of each position is determined by its rank.  Typically the largest position is 15-20% (at cost), while the average position is 8-10% (at cost).  Positions are held for 3 to 5 years unless a stock approaches intrinsic value sooner or an error has been discovered.

The mission of the Boole Fund is to outperform the S&P 500 Index by at least 5% per year (net of fees) over 5-year periods.  We also aim to outpace the Russell Microcap Index by at least 2% per year (net).  The Boole Fund has low fees.

 

If you are interested in finding out more, please e-mail me or leave a comment.

My e-mail: jb@boolefund.com

 

 

 

Disclosures: Past performance is not a guarantee or a reliable indicator of future results. All investments contain risk and may lose value. This material is distributed for informational purposes only. Forecasts, estimates, and certain information contained herein should not be considered as investment advice or a recommendation of any particular security, strategy or investment product. Information contained herein has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, but not guaranteed. No part of this article may be reproduced in any form, or referred to in any other publication, without express written permission of Boole Capital, LLC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *