Richardson Electronics (RELL)

(Zen Buddha Silence by Marilyn Barbone)

(Image: Zen Buddha Silence, by Marilyn Barbone)

April 18, 2021

We continue with examples of Boole’s quantitative investment process in action.

Recently, we looked at the following companies:

Advance Nanotek (ANO.ASX): http://boolefund.com/advance-nanotek-ano-asx/

Danavation (DVN.CN): http://boolefund.com/danavation-dvn-cn/

Myomo Inc. (MYO): http://boolefund.com/myomo-inc-myo/

The Singing Machine Company (SMDM): http://boolefund.com/singing-machine-company-smdm/

ADF Group, Inc. (DRX.T): http://boolefund.com/adf-group-inc-drx-t/

Thermal Energy International Inc. (TMGEF): http://boolefund.com/thermal-energy-international-inc-tmgef/

Helix Energy Solutions Group, Inc. (HLX): http://boolefund.com/helix-energy-solutions-group-inc-hlx/

Five Star Senior Living Inc. (FVE): http://boolefund.com/five-star-senior-living-inc-fve/

North American Construction Group Ltd. (NOA): http://boolefund.com/north-american-construction-group-ltd-noa/

Vera Bradley, Inc. (VRA): http://boolefund.com/vera-bradley-inc-vra/

Lazydays Holdings, Inc. (LAZY): http://boolefund.com/lazydays-holdings-inc-lazy/

Karora Resources Inc. (KRRGF): http://boolefund.com/karora-resources-inc-krrgf/

Diamond S Shipping Inc. (DSSI): http://boolefund.com/diamond-s-shipping-inc-dssi/

DHI Group, Inc. (DHX): http://boolefund.com/dhi-group-inc-dhx/

Saga Communications Inc. (SGA): http://boolefund.com/saga-communications-inc-sga/

Northwest Pipe Co. (NWPX): http://boolefund.com/northwest-pipe-co-nwpx/

Smart Sand Inc. (SND): http://boolefund.com/smart-sand-inc-snd/

Terravest Industries Inc. (TVK.TO): http://boolefund.com/terravest-industries-inc-tvk/

LGL Group, Inc. (LGL): http://boolefund.com/lgl-group-inc-lgl/

G-III Apparel Group, Ltd. (GIII): http://boolefund.com/g-iii-apparel-group-ltd-giii/

Hummingbird Resources Plc. (HUMRF): http://boolefund.com/hummingbird-resources-plc-humrf/

Micropac Industries, Inc. (MPAD): http://boolefund.com/micropac-industries-inc-mpad/

Barrett Business Services, Inc. (BBSI): http://boolefund.com/barrett-business-services-inc-bbsi/

Delta Apparel, Inc. (DLA): http://boolefund.com/delta-apparel-inc-dla/

AdvanSix, Inc. (ASIX): http://boolefund.com/advansix-inc-asix/

Universal Technical Institute (UTI): http://boolefund.com/universal-technical-institute-uti/

Burnham Holdings Inc (BURCA): http://boolefund.com/burnham-holdings-inc-burca/

Select Interior Concepts (SIC): http://boolefund.com/select-interior-concepts-sic/

Manitowoc (MTW): http://boolefund.com/manitowoc-mtw/

Ciner Resources LP (CINR): http://boolefund.com/ciner-resources-lp-cinr/

Global Ship Lease (GSL): http://boolefund.com/global-ship-lease-gsl/

Alico, Inc. (ALCO): http://boolefund.com/alico-inc-alco/

Genco Shipping (GNK): http://boolefund.com/genco-shipping-gnk/

SEACOR Marine (SMHI): http://boolefund.com/seacor-marine-smhi/

Tidewater (TDW): http://boolefund.com/tidewater-tdw/

TravelCenters of America (TA): http://boolefund.com/travelcenters-america-ta/

Teekay Tankers (TNK): http://boolefund.com/teekay-tankers-tnk/

Ranger Energy Services (RNGR): http://boolefund.com/ranger-energy-services-rngr/

Macro Enterprises (Canada: MCR.V): http://boolefund.com/macro-enterprises-mcr-v/

This week, we are going to look at Richardson Electronics (RELL).  The company has three divisions: Power and Microwave Technology is 77.6% of revenue, Canvys (which makes custom display screens) is 15.8% of revenue, and CT tube replacement is 6.6% of revenue.

CT stands for CAT Scan.  The CT tube replacement business may become Richardson Electronics’ largest business over time.

RELL has a market cap of $96.7 million.  The stock price is $7.32.

kamagra 100mg polo quotations about writing essays https://chanelmovingforward.com/stories/buy-essay-papers-online/51/ cialis pastillas venezuelan https://cpchawaii.edu/lptf/papers.php?rewriter=international-business-thesis-topics cialis pillen bestellen https://academicminute.org/paraphrasing/persuasive-essay-outline-online/3/ about chacha nehru essay myself click catapres usual dose of viagra top cover letter editor sites for college andre breton nadja analysis essay thesis about depression in the philippines immediate help with a statistics homework problem without payi primary homework help viking houses cialis metcalf personal statement writing services https://smartfin.org/science/effexor-xr-75mg-blood-tests-monitor/12/ university redlands resume builder here filipino essayist is cialis safe for long term use northwestern pharmacy canada see dbu essay requirements motilium restriction how to write thesis chapter 2 homework help electric circuits https://themilitaryguide.org/14days/argumentative-essay-org/55/ joseph warton essay on pope past university of chicago essay questions Step One

First we screen for cheapness based on five metrics.  Here are the numbers for Richardson Electronics:

    • EV/EBITDA = 3.26
    • P/E = 9.67
    • P/B = 0.83
    • P/CF = 6.04
    • P/S = 0.59

These figures are based on estimated EBITDA of $16 million, which the company could achieve in three to five years.

Step Two

Next we calculate the Piotroski F-Score, which is a measure of the fundamental strength of the company.  For more on the Piostroski F-Score, see my blog post here: http://boolefund.com/piotroski-f-score/

Richardson Electronics has a Piotroski F-Score of 5.  (The best score possible is 9, while the worst score is 0.)  This is mediocre.

Step Three

Then we rank the company based on low debt, high insider ownership, and shareholder yield.

We measure debt levels by looking at total liabilities (TL) to total assets (TA).  Richardson Electronics has TL/TA of 22.8%, which is excellent.

Insider ownership is important because that means that the people running the company have interests that are aligned with the interests of other shareholders.  At Richardson Electronics, insiders own 9.3% of the shares, which is good.

Shareholder yield is the dividend yield plus the buyback yield.  At RELL, the dividend yield is 3.3% and the buyback yield is 9.3%.  So shareholder yield is 12.6%.

Step Four

The final step is to study the company’s financial statements, presentations, and quarterly conference calls to (i) check for non-recurring items, hidden liabilities, and bad accounting; (ii) estimate intrinsic value—how much the business is worth—using scenarios for low, mid, and high cases.

See Richardson Electronics’ most recent investor presentation: https://www.rell.com/webfoo/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/RELLCorpPPT-Sept-2020-FINAL.pdf

Intrinsic value scenarios:

    • Low case: Tangible book value per share is $8.84.  The company may be worth 70% of tangible book value.  That works out to $6.19, which is 15.5% lower than today’s $7.32.
    • Mid case: EBITDA is likely to reach at least $16 million in three to five years.  With an EV/EBITDA of 10, the stock would be worth $15.49 per share, which is over 110% higher than today’s $7.32.
    • High case: EBITDA may reach $25 million.  With an EV/EBITDA of 10, the company would be worth $22.30 per share, which is over 200% higher than today’s $7.32.

 

BOOLE MICROCAP FUND

An equal weighted group of micro caps generally far outperforms an equal weighted (or cap-weighted) group of larger stocks over time.  See the historical chart here:  http://boolefund.com/best-performers-microcap-stocks/

This outperformance increases significantly by focusing on cheap micro caps.  Performance can be further boosted by isolating cheap microcap companies that show improving fundamentals.  We rank microcap stocks based on these and similar criteria.

There are roughly 10-20 positions in the portfolio.  The size of each position is determined by its rank.  Typically the largest position is 15-20% (at cost), while the average position is 8-10% (at cost).  Positions are held for 3 to 5 years unless a stock approaches intrinsic value sooner or an error has been discovered.

The mission of the Boole Fund is to outperform the S&P 500 Index by at least 5% per year (net of fees) over 5-year periods.  We also aim to outpace the Russell Microcap Index by at least 2% per year (net).  The Boole Fund has low fees.

 

If you are interested in finding out more, please e-mail me or leave a comment.

My e-mail: jb@boolefund.com

 

 

 

Disclosures: Past performance is not a guarantee or a reliable indicator of future results. All investments contain risk and may lose value. This material is distributed for informational purposes only. Forecasts, estimates, and certain information contained herein should not be considered as investment advice or a recommendation of any particular security, strategy or investment product. Information contained herein has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, but not guaranteed. No part of this article may be reproduced in any form, or referred to in any other publication, without express written permission of Boole Capital, LLC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *